Nutella Pretzel Truffles

26 Feb

truffles

Some of my first memories involve baking in a kitchen, learning to make fluffy cakes from scratch, delicious cookies ornately decorated (and quickly eaten).  BUT candy making was never in heavy rotation.  How could that be?  Well for the most part, candy making is pretty labor intensive and requires a good amount of patience.  Ha, well I can tell you right now that I have major problems with both of those things, especially the latter.  If I am going to tackle candy making, I want it to be quick, easy and delicious.

I am addicted to Nutella. Like really.  Like I have a problem.  I am a snail that leaves behind trails of nutella smudge (just ask Chris; I just nutella-smudged his sweatshirt last week).  It could be my signature calling card- a smudge of Nutella?  Oh, Sarah must have been here.  Is that dog poop on the couch?  Oh no, Sarah just ate her nightly (no lie) snack of pretzels with Nutella on them. Like I said, a huge problem.

So this combines the best of both/all/my worlds and is a crowd pleaser. And there are only four ingredients! Four! So there is really no excuse to not make these.

Nutella Pretzel Truffles
Makes 22 small truffles

  • 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup crushed pretzels
  • 1/3 cup hazelnut spread (Nutella)
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Truffle Ingredients

Heat cream in saucepan over medium heat until small bubbles start to form around edges (cute helper optional)

Little helper

Pour chocolate chips in a heat proof medium sized bowl; pour heated cream over chips

Chocolate and Nutella

Let sit for 15 seconds to allow chips to soften and then stir until a smooth, silky texture

Add in Nutella and 1/4 cup of the pretzels, stir to combine

Press a layer of plastic wrap on top of surface; refrigerate 1-2 hours or until the mixture is hardened

Scoop out 3/4 inch balls (with a teaspoon or a cookie scoop) and roll in the remaining crushed pretzels

crushed pretzels

Refrigerate until serving

Drool. (This one is optional, but I can guarantee it will happen)

3 Responses to “Nutella Pretzel Truffles”

  1. Kate February 26, 2013 at 9:29 am #

    Looks delicious- don’t forget to bring some into work for testing!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Pretzel Nutella Milkshake | parallel foodiverse - May 10, 2013

    […] me.  I swear I make lots of other goodies sans hazelnut spread, but not today.  Or that day.  Or this one […]

  2. Popcorn with Lemon Salt and Black Pepper | parallel foodiverse - June 5, 2013

    […] I whisper; I don’t put the t.v. volume past six; crunchy snacks are forbidden (aside from my nightly nutella and pretzels) and the number one rule is to never, ever pop popcorn. Or suffer the wrath of […]

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

