Peach Pancakes with Raspberry Syrup

7 Jun

Peach Pancakes

I am going to be the first to admit that I am a cake snob. It’s a given that between my mom, my godmother and myself, the words “boxed cake mix” are never uttered from our lips. Or used in our kitchens. HOWEVER, boxed pancake mix? Sure thing! Pancakes in a hot second?! Sign me up. Oh, you even come in a yellow, plastic container so that I don’t have to use a bowl?! Um yes. Especially on Sunday mornings when I can barely roll myself out of bed, let alone feed human beings.

Then I decided to make pancakes from scratch one day and my world was rocked (like I have said before, not too hard to do). They were so much better. With all the summer fruit coming out, we wanted to take advantage of it and came up with this flavor combination.

*On a side note, I am also a maple syrup snob. I actually bring my own syrup with me to diners (don’t judge.).

Peach Pancakes with Raspberry Syrup (makes 8 medium pancakes)
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon white sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
3 Tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup diced, fresh peaches

Raspberry Syrup
1 cup raspberries
1 cup sugar + 1 Tablespoon sugar
1/2 cup water

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon together

Mix in milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth

Lightly oil a medium frying pan and heat over medium heat; pour 1/3 cup of batter into pan and cook until both sides are browned

For the syrup, heat a medium saucepan over medium heat; add berries, 1 Tablespoon sugar and 1/2 cup water

Stir constantly for about five minutes, or until the berries are broken up

Raspberry Syrup

Add 1/2 cup water and bring mixture to a boil, then turn down to a simmer (skim off any foam on top); cook for 10 minutes

Using a sieve, strain raspberries and return the liquid to the saucepan (discard seeds/pulp)

strainer (478x640)

Add additional cup of sugar and stir until dissolved and bring to a boil for 5 minutes, or until mixture reduces by about half

Remove from heat and let cool

*Syrup can be stored in a sealed container for up to three weeks

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

