Brown Sugar Black Pepper Bacon

17 Jun

Brown Sugar Black Pepper Bacon Brunch is one of my absolute favorite things.  And I don’t mean just a favorite meal.  I mean an absolute favorite thing in my life.  What’s not to love?  Sweet and savory.  Loads of alcohol.  Passing desserts off as “brunch” food.  I dig it.

New York also seems to be the unofficial “land of brunch” (I just made that up, so don’t quote me.).  On almost every restaurant menu, they are pushing some sort of brunch option, always complete with free-flowing mimosas.  Just a warning: Free-flowing mimosas on Sunday make for a rough Monday.  Those are my wise words for the month.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Brunch is also one of my favorite times to entertain, which means I have a few favorites that I can always rely on.  The following recipe is one of those and is always a crowd favorite.  As the bacon cools, the sugar starts to caramelize and you get something that is similar to candied bacon.  Meat candy.  You’re welcome.

Brown Sugar Black Pepper Bacon

1 pound bacon

1/4 cup brown sugar (either light or dark)

Fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Line a cookie sheet with foil, folding the edges up; place baking rack on top of foiled sheet, legs closed in

Racks

Lay bacon out in a single layer and crack black pepper over strips

Sprinkle brown sugar on top of strips and use fingers to rub evenly

Bacon with brown sugar

Cook for 30-40 minutes, or until crisp

*If you like this recipe, check out this one too: Bacon Snickerdoodle Ice Cream Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

