Blueberry Buckle

21 Jun

Blueberry Buckle

Growing up, in my household we celebrated events with baked goods.  Every holiday, celebration, or you know, a random Tuesday night, was marked with a delicious dessert.  Angel Food cake  with fresh whipped cream and strawberries was for my dad’s birthday.  Chocolate cake with vanilla buttercream was reserved for my mom’s birthday.  Homemade caramels and jam for Christmas gifts. I even remember random moments in my life and know exactly what I was eating at that moment to mark the occasion. For (weird) example: the first time I watched Sound of Music, I ate, also for the first time, Pilsbury’s Magic Marshmallow Crescent Puffs.  A recipe that is from the 60’s and was something my mom’s mom made her.  I’m like a food idiot savant, what a talent…a.very.useless.talent.

This dish is something that had been made on Christmas morning for as long as I can remember.  When Chris and I were dating in college, my parents flew out to spend Christmas in New York where I was going to school.  I was graduating that year and felt all “adult” and wanted to keep this tradition going.  What came out was a tubular (wrong pan), purple mess.  But it was still delicious.  Needless to say, over the years I think I have nailed it and will definitely continue that tradition.  Which is one of the best things about creating in a kitchen.

Blueberry Buckle

Blueberry Buckle Topping

½ cup sugar

1/3 cup flour

¼ cup butter, softened

½ teaspoon cinnamon

Cake

¼ cup butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

1 egg

2/3 cup milk

2 cups flour

½ teaspoon salt

2 teaspoon baking powder

2 cups well-drained blueberries (sprinkled with 1 Tablespoon flour)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

For crumble topping, mix topping ingredients together by hand, making sure the butter is thoroughly combined; the mixture should have a crumbly consistency

Buckle Topping

Cream butter and sugar in a mixer; add egg and mix well

Sift together flour, salt and baking powder; add into creamed butter, along with the milk and mix until combined

Fold in blueberries

Blueberry Buckle Batter

Spread in a greased 9” square pan and sprinkle topping on top

Bake for 45-50 minutes

2 Responses to “Blueberry Buckle”

  1. Janna Crickmore June 21, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Your mom is an incredible cook. I’m gonna miss her goodies. Looks like you got some good genes from her

    • parallelfoodiverse June 21, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      Awww, thanks Janna! I’m sure you are going to have a very expanded palate by the time you guys come back to Cali! Safe travels!

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

