Raspberry Jam and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pizza

12 Jul

Raspberry Jam and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pizza

I am such a sucker for mail.  It’s always so exciting when anything, other than a bill, arrives in your mailbox.  One of the sweetest sights to see in our household is a specific-sized box, with a return address from California.  Chris and I always immediately know the contents of said box.  It’s my mom’s jam.  And it’s freaking amazing.

She has been jamming for as long as I can remember and you would think I would have paid attention at least one time out of the 974 times she has made it. Nope (insert shamed daughter).  I have literally sat in the same room with her multiple times while she has made it.  I have no idea how to make it so I have to rely on her to keep our supply stocked (and also keep our close friends and family supplied).  And thank goodness because we go through peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in our house like WHOA.  And it’s not just because we have a three-year old kid.  It is my weakness. (Chris has said on multiple occasions that I have the palate of a toddler…).

So it was a welcome surprise when that box arrived on our doorstep last Friday. It held (glorious) large jars of jam from my mom. It was also perfect timing because we were having people over for dinner and they could be our (willing) guinea pigs for this dessert pizza.

I love raspberries and dark chocolate together, so this was a natural combination in my mind.  The mascarpone lightens up the taste to create something that is divine.  Trust me on this one.  Oh, and those leftover dark chocolate chips?  Gone.  In my mouth.  Another weakness.

Raspberry Jam and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pizza

Homemade or store-bought pizza dough

1/2 cup raspberry jam

1/2 cup mascarpone cheese

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Roll out pizza dough (further instructions here)

Place dough on pizza peel, oil the top side and turn oiled side out onto grill (medium-high); while the bottom is cooking, oil the top side

Grill dough until grill marks start to form, flip and do the same for the other side (about two minutes per side)

Grilled Dough

Dollop the jam and mascarpone on the cooked dough; sprinkle dark chocolate chips over the top

Raspberry Jam Pizza

Return pizza to grill and close cover to allow ingredients to melt, about one minute

Raspberry Jam and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pizza

Remove from heat and serve

*If you like this recipe, check out: Grilled Summer Fruit Pizza

3 Responses to “Raspberry Jam and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pizza”

  1. MT-V July 12, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Always nice to see the jam put to good use. Next time I visit, we’ll have a tutorial … or, what the heck, I’ll just keep shipping it to you. I’m trying to score some of those killer backyard San Diego plums so we can have some Plum Boysenberry jam soon.

    • parallelfoodiverse July 12, 2013 at 11:09 am #

      Plum Boysenberry is my absolute favorite! I think next time you are out we’ll have a guest post on the jam.

  2. FabMissM July 12, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    That pizza was freakin amazing!
    I wish I had some now (insert hungry girl here)

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

