Cold Brewed Iced Coffee

24 Jul

Iced Coffee

I was never really a “coffee person” until Ella was born.  And then I wanted an IV drip of it permanently attached to my arm.  Those first few months (scratch that: first year) of sleepless nights with a baby equaled tons of caffeine replenishment the next morning (and afternoon….and early evening).  I do have to admit though that I have become a coffee snob over the years. In the early days, a huge iced coffee with tons of cream and lots of sugar was my regular order.  Nowadays, the less fillers/add-in’s, the better.  I want to actually taste the coffee, not mask it.  I won’t really even blink if you handed me a cup of black coffee.  (Well, I would probably blink, because not blinking would just be so odd….).

With that said, my iced coffee preferences have also changed over the last couple of years.  I tend to find most store-bought iced coffees (with a couple exceptions) are too watered down and not strong enough for my tastes.  By cold brewing the coffee, you get less of a bitter taste (as hot water releases oils that give that off); so you get a strong flavor that is really smooth.  I actually prefer this home-brewed version to any other shop version.  And as an added bonus, I pour some of the coffee in ice cube trays so I can pop a few of those in too, without diluting the final product.  So pour yourself a tall one and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Cold Brewed Iced Coffee (makes 16 cups)
2 cups ground coffee
4 quarts (16 cups) cold water

In a large bowl, mix ground coffee and water together.  Cover with plastic wrap and let it sit at room temperature for at least 8 hours.

Place a piece of cheesecloth in a strainer and set over a large container/pitcher.  Pour mixture through the cheesecloth and after liquid is strained, discard the coffee grounds.

Strainer and cheesecloth

Coffee Grounds

Put container/pitcher of coffee in refrigerator and allow to cool.

Serve over coffee ice cubes and add milk and sugar to taste.

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

