Buttered Popcorn and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

17 Aug

Buttered Popcorn and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have a problem and thy name is cookies.  My mom is the “cookie queen”, so whenever she comes to visit us in New York, cookies are constantly coming out of the oven (and straight to my hips!).  If you put a bag of oreos in front of me, I can consume the whole bag no problem, something I’m not too proud of.  I just don’t have an “off” switch when it comes to them.  And that is one of the reasons I don’t make them too often.  Because I will eat them.  All of them.  I love them so and they just mock me right to my face.  When I do make them (and of course sample as I go along), they have to be headed directly to a party/someone’s house/Ella’s preschool, because if they are on my counter for more than five minutes, they will “suddenly” disappear.  Into my mouth.

My little cousin slept over the other night and one of the things I wanted to do was bake cookies with her.  And the only stipulation was that she had to take them home (except for the three that I put to the side for…Ella.  Right, for Ella.).

Buttered Popcorn and Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 cups popped buttered popcorn (1 microwave bag)

½ cup unsalted butter, room temperature

½ cup light brown sugar, packed

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ¼ cups all purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

With an electric mixer, beat together butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar, until light and fluffy

Add egg and vanilla and beat until combined; with mixer on low, beat in flour, baking soda and salt until combined

With a spatula, fold in popped buttered popcorn (it will break down as it is mixed in); fold in dark chocolate chips

Scoop dough into balls and place on parchment/Silpat-lined cookie sheets

Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

