Pickled Jalapenos

28 Aug

Pickled Jalapenosposted by: Chris

I don’t have a vegetable garden, yet. That was low on my priority list when we got our new house – not quite as high as a new roof, but slightly ahead of installing a zip line from our second story deck directly to the train station about five blocks away.

Luckily for me I have family who have been cultivating gardens for years. And luckily for my neighbors, the Town of Bedford frowns upon zip lines. Either way, everyone’s a winner!

What I’ve noticed from a far about having a vegetable garden is how great it is to have fresh produce right outside your back door. I’ve also noticed (and this may only be a northeast problem) but everything tends to come at once.

You may have a need for four dozen tomatoes, but what are you gonna do with all those cucumbers, or five plants worth of jalapeños. That’s where I come in.

Send me your poor, your weak and all the homegrown produce you couldn’t possibly eat before it spoils. I’m on a pickling mission and it started with these jalapeños. After a few weeks they’ve maintained a great crisp and pack much of the heat that store-bought, jarred jalapeños lack.

I made this batch with a bunch of chilies my uncle asked me to take off his hands. I thought I cleaned him out. That was until he sent me the rest of his harvest in the mail and just in time. I’m about to polish off jar No.1 and can’t wait to pickle another batch.

Pickled Jalapeños
1 pound fresh jalapeño peppers, sliced in 1/4 inch rings
2 1/2 cups water
2 1/2 cups white vinegar
3 Tablespoons pickling/canning salt*
1 Tablespoon sugar
4 garlic cloves, peeled and thinly sliced
2 Tablespoons coriander seeds (or 2 teaspoons ground coriander)
2 Tablespoons black peppercorns
2 bay leaves

Put jalapeño slices in a canning jars

jalapenos

Combine remaining ingredients and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for two minutes, or until salt is completely dissolved

Pickling liquid, jalapenos

Removing brining liquid from heat and pour over the jarred peppers; affix the lids and let cool

When jars are cooled, put in refrigerator and allow to sit for a week

The jalapeños willl keep for up to a month

*If you don’t have canning salt, you can substitute kosher salt.  Note that it will take a little longer to dissolve and may make the pickling liquid a little more cloudy.

If you like this recipe, check out our Chorizo and Roasted Corn Grilled Jalapeño Poppers

One Response to “Pickled Jalapenos”

  1. Mary Tigue-Velardi August 28, 2013 at 11:43 am #

    OK, now I’m interested in pickling. Weenie palette that I have, jalapenos probably won’t be my first choice, but I’d like to try some bread and butter pickles. Or, maybe YOU could try some bread and butter pickles and I’ll come to your house and eat them as my contribution to the general pickling discussion.

    If you sterilize the jars and get a good seal, would you be able to keep these longer (and at room temp)?

    Mary/Mom

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

