Good Ol’ Fashioned Pot Roast

22 Nov

Pot Roast

I totally get eating healthy.  I understand that vegetables and fruits should be the bulk of our diets.  I get it.  Quinoa?  After actually learning how to pronounce it, I got right on board with it.  Kale?  Definitely the Britney Spears at-her-peak of the leafy greens world.  Throw enough garlic on it and sure, I’ll eat it.  However, sometimes I just want some meat.  Like, a lot of meat.

I discovered I actually liked pot roast a couple of years ago.  And for that, I apologize to my mom, who definitely made it many times when I was younger (and I obviously did not eat it…sorry).  Both Chris and I like to try different cooking techniques and like to experiment with flavors, but sometimes a good old-fashioned standby like a pot roast is so comforting and fulfilling.  So for this recipe, I channeled my inner June Cleaver, threw on a strand of pearls and got to cooking.

Pot Roast
2 1/2-3 pound pot roast
1 Tablespoon oil
1 medium onion, sliced
2 cups + 1/4 cup water
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 cube beef bouillon
1 cinnamon stick
4 carrots, cut in 1-inch pieces
5 small red potatoes, quartered
1 Tablespoon cornstarch

Heat oil in a dutch oven/soup pot over medium-high heat

Brown roast on one side; add onions and flip roast over to brown the other side

Add 2 cups water, soy sauce, sugar, buillon and cinnamon stick

Simmer, covered for 3-4 hours or until meat is tender

Add carrots and potatoes and cook an additonal 30 minutes or until vegetables are tender

In a small bowl, add remaining 1/4 cup water and cornstarch; stir until dissolved and add to pot; allow to boil for 2 minutes, or until thickened

Remove from heat and shred meat to serve

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

