Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

13 Jan

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

I had an unhealthy obsession with ramen noodles growing up.  If I had it my way, I would eat it every single night.  My parents pleaded with me to add more variety to my diet, but there was just something about that salty bowl of ramen noodles that I just couldn’t kick.  When college rolled around, my tiny bank account was a perfect “excuse” to keep my bad habit going (or at least that is what I told myself, as my sodium levels were off the chart).  Then I grew up and realized that there was more to food outside of that 25 cent, neon orange package.  Nevermind the fact that I would probably die from salt overload if I ate it now; I really just know better at this point in my life (and helllooo real ramen joints in NYC, like Momofuku Noodle Bar). I do, however, miss the fact that it took about 3 minutes to make a bowl of ramen, I especially feel that way on a busy Monday night in a household with two working parents and a hyper 3 1/2 year old.  So this is a nod to those “delicious” bowls of ramen, with a couple of hacks that make it a little more gourmet, a whole lot more delicious and just as easy.

Asian Chicken Noodle Soup

6 cups chicken broth

1 cup shredded rotisserie chicken

1/8 cup soy sauce

1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger

2 packages ramen noodles (discard seasoning packets)

3 scallions, chopped

1/2 lime

Combine broth, chicken, soy sauce and ginger in a medium stockpot; heat over medium-high heat until boiling

Add in ramen noodles and cook for 3 minutes

Remove pot from heat and stir in scallions and lime juice

Leave a Reply

Semiproper

here for the snacks

Patrons of the Pit

Two Men, Two Pits and a Blog

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

